Low Fat Diva Blog

Low Fat Lifestyle Recipes & Lowfat Cooking Tips

Fabulous No Fat Fruit Crisp September 1, 2010

Filed under: Desserts,Low Fat Diva Blog — lowfatdiva @ 3:46 pm

Yes, I know that I use the word “fabulous” a great deal but OMG, this dessert is exactly that – F A B U L O U S!  I’m not much of a crisp girl and since I’ve really watched my fat intake, I knew that it was a no-no.  But I did some research on toppings after I learned from my daughter that she really liked fruit crisp!  The topping was the most difficult since as we all know the crisp part involves copious amounts of butter – hello fat content.  But on a website called “Mastercook” someone said you could make your crisp topping with honey instead of the butter.  On  a food show I was watching there was a guy who put his crisp in his smoker in a oven proof skillet – well light bulbs went off and I immediately started writing down my ideas.  I decided to do a peach/blueberry crisp instead of apple and I put mine in my smoker in a cast iron pot that my dad had given me.

The recipe that I”m sharing with you today is what I came up with and it really is delish!  I even served it the first time I made it (which I rarely do – my husband is usually my initial tester)  to some friends and my mom!  The reviews were great and they couldn’t believe the whole dessert was made in my smoker, was fat free and the vanilla frozen yogurt I served on top was also fat free 🙂  I hope you enjoy the crisp as much as we did!

No Fat Fruit Crisp

You will need 6 cups of fresh/frozen fruit of your choice (blueberries, apples, peaches, cherries, etc) but not commercially canned.

1/4 cup of sugar

4-6 Tlb. of flour

2Tlb. lemon or orange zest (using zest from fresh lemon/orange gives a better taste)

Mix all of the above ingredients together in a bowl.

In another bowl mix;

2/3 cup quick oats

2/3 cup brown sugar

1/3 cup flour

cinn. to taste

4Tlb. of honey (you may need a bit more)

Mix these ingredients together and you need to make sure to stir so that all the flour,sugar and oats are incorporated well.  If you put nuts in the topping for the crisp you need to remember that is going to add fat.  Right now there isn’t any fat content in the mix.

If you put the crisp in the oven, spray an oven dish with butter flavored cooking spray, if you put it in the smoker like I did there is no need for spray when you put the mixed fruit into the cast iron pan.  After you have poured the fruit into the prepared pan, take your crisp topping and sprinkle it over the fruit mixture.

Bake in oven at 350 degrees for about 35 min. or until topping has browned and become “crisp”.  The same temp. is used for a smoker.

Let crisp sit for about 5 min. before serving because it will be extremely hot and bubbly.  ENJOY!

If you try this with other fruit email/comment so I can read how things went for you.   1lowfatdiva@gmail.com

 

2 Responses to “Fabulous No Fat Fruit Crisp”

  1. lowfatdiva Says:

    Ok, I tried to make a crisp using frozen rhubarb and things didn’t go so well. I used double the amount of flour but the fruit didn’t thicken up at all. So, take note if you choose to make the crisp with frozen fruit, add a great deal more flour or ………………….oh, possibly a bit of tapioca???? Let me know how it goes for you!

  2. Ramona Says:

    Hey Everyone! I used the Hazelnut Agave in my latest Peach Crisp. I discovered that the Agave is not as thick as honey so was concerned it would not work in helping my crisp topping stick together so I only used a tablespoon to give a little flavor – The result???? YUMMY! Can’t wait to try the Blueberry Agave that I also purchased. 🙂


Leave a Reply

