Low Fat Diva Blog

Low Fat Lifestyle Recipes & Lowfat Cooking Tips

Carrot Harvest Bread With Stout September 23, 2010

Filed under: Bread & Muffins,Low Fat Diva Blog — lowfatdiva @ 12:03 pm

I know that I said I would post this yesterday and I’m sorry, time really got away from me.  Both breads I had my “official testers” try seemed to go over well.  Did they jump up and down………….no – actually they only do that for bacon or sausage!  So when I bring in healthy items for them to try, now you know why I say they are some of my toughest critics 🙂  They did say they liked the bread and would eat it (liked it better before they knew it was healthy) again if given the chance.  So that was pretty nice to hear.  Now I guess I will have to wait to hear your reviews 🙂

The bread is great even if you do not want to add Stout beer to it.  My husband brews beer and we are in a brew club so I wanted to come up with some fun items for the rest of the club to try if they wanted to and I wanted it to be low in fat so I could not just talk lower in fat but show that I practice it too!  I do like to hear your feedback regarding the recipes so send me a quick line or two and give me your thoughts or comments  1lowfatdiva@gmail.com Enjoy 🙂

I used part of a recipe from Cooking Light. It’s a magazine that I found dealing with low fat cooking, however their idea of low fat and mine are quite different.  So if I find a recipe that I like and think I can still lower the fat – I do!

Carrot Harvest Bread With Stout

1 cup flour plus 2 Tlb

3/4 cup of sugar

2 tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

1/2 cup grated peeled Granny Smith apple

1/2 cup grated zucchini

1/2 cup grated carrot

1/4 cup nonfat buttermilk

2 egg beaters

2 Tlb. low fat margarine melted and cooled slightly

3 Tlb. Stout Beer

Combine flour and the next 4 ingredients in a large bow, stirring with a whisk.  Stir in apple, zucchini and carrot.  In a separate bowl, combine nonfat buttermilk and eggs.  Add melted oleo and 3 Tlb of Stout beer, stirring with a whisk.  Carefully add wet ingredients to dry ingredients.  Stir only until mixture is combined.

Spoon your batter into either a sprayed 8×4 loaf pan or you can use small loaf pans (about 3) that have been sprayed with butter flavored spray.  Bake at 350 for 40 min in large pan about 15-20 in small pans.  Remember every oven is different so time will vary.  Always check with toothpick 5 min. or so before time is up so you don’t over bake!

The only fat in the recipe should be from your melted oleo which would be 10 grams for either the loaf or divided among the smaller loaves.

Carrot Harvest Bread With Stout

NOTE:  If you omit the Stout beer, leave out the extra 2 Tlb of flour

 

One Response to “Carrot Harvest Bread With Stout”

  1. loisem Says:

    This was delicious! I often think of low-fat breads as being a little dry, but this wasn’t at all. Yummy. I may have to scare up some stout and make some!


Leave a Reply

