Low Fat Diva Blog

Low Fat Lifestyle Recipes & Lowfat Cooking Tips

Banana Bread With A Hint Of Coconut And Lime September 27, 2010

Filed under: Bread & Muffins,Low Fat Diva Blog — lowfatdiva @ 11:37 pm

I found this recipe for banana bread in my Cooking Light Magazine. Although they thought it was “light” I had my doubts when it called for real eggs, 1/4 cup of butter and 1/2 cup of coconut (only made 1 loaf)!  So I decided to see what I could do to cut down on the fat content and still have some great taste.  The bread I made came out great on my first attempt!  Yippee.  I only had so many bananas 🙂

It’s amazing what a little creativity will accomplish in the kitchen.  If you like the flavor of coconut and lime, you will really enjoy this bread.  I was a little concerned at first considering it was a recipe for banana bread but the flavors complimented each other very nicely.  I hope you enjoy the bread as much as I did and all my critics 🙂  Enjoy!

Banana Bread With Coconut & Lime

2 cups of flour

3/4 tsp baking soda

1 cup sugar

2 Tlb. melted low fat margarine (Blue Bonnet)

2 eggs from egg beaters

1 1/2 cup mashed ripe bananas

1/4 cup no fat yogurt (can use banana flavor or vanilla)

3 Tlb. of dark rum (or you can use coconut flavoring or coconut rum)

1/2 tsp coconut flavor (only use this IF you do not use it in place of the 3 Tlb. of dark rum or coconut rum)

1 1/2 Tlb. fresh lime zest

1 1/2 Tlb lime juice

1/2 cup powdered sugar

1 Tlb. flaked coconut

Mix flour & baking soda in a bowl with whisk.  In a bowl mix sugar, margarine and eggs with whisk or on low speed with mixer.  Add mashed bananas, yogurt, rum (or coconut rum or coconut flavor) and mix until blended.  Add in flour mixture and mix just until all flour is moist.  Spoon batter into a 9×5 loaf pan that has been coated with butter flavored spray.  Sprinkle just 1 Tlb. of coconut onto top of batter.  Bake at 350 degrees for 45-50 min. or until toothpick comes out clean.

Cool in pan for 10 minutes on a wire rack and then remove from pan.  Combine powdered sugar, lime juice and zest in small bowl with whisk.  Drizzle over warm bread.  Cool bread completely on wire rack before cutting or storing.

Email me your thoughts/comments to 1lowfatdiva@gmail.com

 

Leave a Reply

