Low Fat Diva Blog

Low Fat Lifestyle Recipes & Lowfat Cooking Tips

Morning Sandwich September 30, 2010

Filed under: Breakfast,Low Fat Diva Blog — lowfatdiva @ 12:21 pm

I’m sitting  here with my Skinny Caramel Macchiato Coffee made with freshly ground coffee beans……..ahhhh.  Perfect way to start the day at 6:45am!  Thank goodness for Coffee House International creamers (I just wish they would venture out and make more than 2 flavors)!  Anyway I have been urged to put up my Morning Sandwich recipe.  It really is not a recipe per-say but more of an idea and you can change things up the way you or your family would like.

As I was perusing the aisles in Sams Club recently I  found a package of Ciabatta Rolls.  I was sure they would be extremely high in fat but to my surprise 1 roll was only 1.5 grams!  My mind started racing of all the great things I could make with these rolls.  I do a lot with bagels so this was going to be a nice change for my taste testers.  I decided to take some egg beaters and fry 1 1/2 (about 1/3 cup) in a frying pan with some spices.  I cook them on low so they will puff up and just before the eggs set up I put some no fat cheese all over the center of the egg mixture.  I then fold the eggs in half and finish cooking them.

A couple of weeks ago in one of my favorite stores I found Canadian Bacon that was 97% (or so) fat free, basically the math comes out to 1.5 grams in 4 slices of the Canadian Bacon – now that is a good deal!  Well I didn’t want to just put my egg omelet on a plain roll even if it was a Ciabatta, so I looked in the cupboard and found a package of  dry Pesto.  I use this always so I make sure I have lots of packages ahead but you need to make sure that you do not add the oil that is suggested.  I only add about 1/2 of the water so you still have the great Pesto taste.  Well I mixed up the Pesto, spread it on both halves of the Ciabatta roll, placed half of the egg omelet and placed the Canadian Bacon slices on the top/bottom of the sandwich.  To top it off I had a hybrid tomato so I very thinly sliced the tomato and put that on the sandwich too. YUMMMMM

The entire sandwich is only 3 grams of fat!  Can you believe that????  I hope you enjoy this Morning Sandwich as much as my friends at the Q did and all the other taste testers!!!!

Comments/questions   1lowfatdiva@gmail.com

 

Leave a Reply

