Low Fat Diva Blog

Low Fat Lifestyle Recipes & Lowfat Cooking Tips

Creamy Wild Rice Soup November 1, 2010

Filed under: Low Fat Diva Blog,Soups & Veggies — lowfatdiva @ 11:39 am

Typically I’m not a big time soup girl, but my tastes must be changing because I was actually in the mood for soup the other day.  If I made soup in the past of course it was  the creamy, rich tasting soups like clam chowder, wild rice, potato, squash or my real favorite lobster bisque!  Just reading those names makes my mouth water and want to get back into the “test kitchen”!……………..ok, back on track Ramona.  I went through my pantry and found some wild rice and a can of  low fat cream of potato soup!  Realizing I had everything I needed to try and come up with a recipe for low fat wild rice soup, I got right to work.

Share this soup with your family or friends and don’t even tell them before they try it, they will be amazed that it is low fat!  Make a double batch so you can take some to work.  I also made a batch of beer bread and served it along with the soup – yes, the bread was low fat 🙂           Enjoy and feel free to write me your comments and questions    1lowfatdiva@gmail.com

1/2 cup no fat chicken stock

4 1/2 tsp. minced/chopped onion (depending on your taste)

2/3 cup low fat Cream Of Potato Soup from a can (don’t dilute the soup)

1/2 cup – 2/3 cup cooked wild rice

1/2 cup fat free Evaporated Milk

1/2 cup sliced regular or Portabella mushrooms

In a sauce pan bring onion and chicken stock to a low boil for about 3 min. or until onions are just crisp tender.  Reduce heat to low.  Stir in low fat Cream of Potato Soup, cooked wild rice and no fat Evaporated Milk.  Do not let the soup boil!  Cook over low heat until everything is heated through.   Enjoy!

NOTE:  One of my “taste testers” said her family didn’t like wild rice – no problem!  Just use either cooked brown rice or you can use left over cooked white rice for the soup, it will taste delish!  The same holds true if you have a family that does not like mushrooms, just omit them but if you would like a bit of texture to the soup, add some thinly sliced carrots.

 

Leave a Reply

