Low Fat Diva Blog

Low Fat Lifestyle Recipes & Lowfat Cooking Tips

Homemade Granola Bars November 17, 2010

Filed under: Breakfast,Low Fat Diva Blog — lowfatdiva @ 9:55 pm

One of the things I have learned since choosing a low fat lifestyle is that sometimes things that are supposed to be good for us, like granola/bars, can be very high in fat.  My daughter likes to make healthy things for her daughter to eat so she makes a variety of granola bars.  But they usually have a bit too much fat for me so as it was pouring down rain today, I decided to dig into the pantry and see what I had for dried fruit.  Obviously I didn’t want the entire bar to be just raisins and I knew that if I added nuts or other typical granola bar items I would be increasing the fat content and defeating my purpose!

I found I had not only raisins but also dried cherries, blueberries, mango and apricots – bingo – I found the mother load!  I gathered up some of my savored Better n Peanut Butter and got busy.  This recipe is absolutely fantastic and if you follow things exactly there is only about 5 grams in the entire pan!!!!  But remember that is only if you can find the Better n Peanut Butter 🙂   Enjoy.

Homemade Low Fat Granola Bars

2 1/2 cups of quick oats

3 cups of dried fruit (use variety)

1 1/2 tsp. cinn

1 14 oz can no fat sweetened condensed milk

1/2 cup Better n Peanut Butter

Line a 15 x 10 baking sheet with foil and spray with butter flavored Pam.

Mix all ingredients together well.  Put into prepared pan.  Using spoon to make sure mixture is spread even.

Bake 325 degrees for 45 min.   Cool.  Flip onto cutting board and peel off foil.  Cut into pieces and enjoy!

NOTE: You can add 1/4 cup of coconut that will add 16 grams of fat to bars or you can add 1/4 cup of mini chocolate chips and that will add 16 grams of fat to granola bars.  Nuts will add a lot of fat….I know it’s “good fat” but it’s still fat and you need to take that into consideration when you add them to the granola bars.

Send comments/questions to 1lowfatdiva@gmail.com

 

One Response to “Homemade Granola Bars”

  1. CB Says:

    Those are beautiful and I’m gonna try them. Thank you for sharing.


Leave a Reply

