Low Fat Diva Blog

Low Fat Lifestyle Recipes & Lowfat Cooking Tips

Holiday Baking December 1, 2010

Filed under: Desserts,Low Fat Diva Blog — lowfatdiva @ 5:35 pm

Most of us have shoved the turkey aside and are now ready to concentrate on holiday baking.  Last year I can’t remember making anything but this year I’m already experimenting (so you don’t have to) in my “test kitchen” 🙂  Although one of the recipes that I’m going to share with you is not exactly considered a holiday cookie, oatmeal cookies with dates but they are wonderful!  I made them small and gave them to my taste testers.  When I turned my back they were sneaking more off the plate – yes, they were that good.

The other cookie that I made, early this morning, was biscotti.  This is a cookie that usually has a great deal of fat in it.  I borrowed some of the recipe from two friends that wrote a cookbook called “The Stocked Kitchen” (available on Amazon) and then put my own spin on the recipe.  It’s very versatile and if you like biscotti I think you will love this recipe.  Enjoy:)            Feel free to contact me 1lowfatdiva@gmail.com

Revamp Of Oatmeal Cookies

1 3/4 cups flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1 1/4 cups br. sugar

6 Tlb of Bluebonnet Lite

2 Tlb. yogurt

1/2 c white sugar

1/2 cup Egg Beaters

2 1/2 cups oats (I like quick)

1/2 – 1 cup of dates/cranberries/raisins  (if using dates find the chopped ones that are dusted with flour)

Oven 375 degrees

Whisk dry ingredients together.  Beat br. sugar, oleo and sugar until creamy.  Beat in eggs and yogurt.  Add dry ingredients.  Fold dates/cranberries/raisins in with spoon.  Chill dough for about 15 min.

Using a teaspoon drop onto a greased baking sheet.  Try to keep in rounded form not flattened.  Keep the dough not being used in the oven and bring out as you use it.  Bake 9-10 min. (depending on oven).

I was able to get 30 cookies out of the batch (should have gotten more) and if you follow this recipe without changes, each cookie is about 1.5 grm of fat.  Not bad!  But remember that doesn’t mean sit down and eat 6 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

