Low Fat Diva Blog

Low Fat Lifestyle Recipes & Lowfat Cooking Tips

Tomato Tarragon Bisque January 11, 2011

Filed under: Low Fat Diva Blog,Soups & Veggies — lowfatdiva @ 1:33 pm

I have never been much on soups and especially not tomato!  Yet I find that I”m either learning to like soup/bisque or  I’m rediscovering them.  Recently while visiting my friend Hillary  she told me about a tomato bisque she was making on her wood stove and wanted to know if I would like a sample.  I thought it sounded interesting so I took a sample and it was delish!  Now, I need to explain to you that Hillary freezes her own vegetables and is into organic foods/meats.  So when she made the bisque it was from her home grown tomatoes that she had frozen.  The original recipe did call for things that would make it high in fat than I felt comfortable so the recipe that I’m sharing has changed a bit.

If you decide to make the bisque don’t worry if you don’t have any organic/home grown tomatoes in your freeze, I actually used canned tomatoes for mine.  The bisque is great for lunch or supper.  I baked some home made bread to serve with mine.   Enjoy 🙂

Please feel free to send questions/comments to 1lowfatdiva@gmail.com

Tomato Tarragon Bisque

1/2 cup diced onion

1 clove of garlic

Fresh Tarragon

2 Tlb. Low Fat Margarine

4 cups diced tomatoes

3 cups Low Fat Chicken Broth

2 Tb. four

1/2 cup Fat Free half and half

Fresh Parsley

1 Tlb. honey

Saute the diced onion in a saute pan that has been liberally sprayed with Pam until the onion is clean.  Add in 1 -2 Tlb. fresh minced Tarragon, the tomatoes and the chicken broth.  Bring to a boil and remove from heat.

To make the rue:  Melt the 2 tlb. of oleo and add 2 tlb. of flour.  Stir for about 3 min.  Slowly add the half and half.  Simmer until think about 10 min.  Add 1/4 cup minced parsely and the honey.   Add this mixture to the tomato mixture.  If cool enough then either puree with emulsion mixer or blender.  Put bisque back in pan and cook for about 5 more minutes.

NOTE:  If the bisque is not thick enough you can make more rue and I added more tarragon after I pureed it.

 

Leave a Reply

