Low Fat Diva Blog

Low Fat Lifestyle Recipes & Lowfat Cooking Tips

Stroganoff January 12, 2011

Filed under: Low Fat Diva Blog,Main Dishes & Sandwiches — lowfatdiva @ 2:21 pm

I used to make Stroganoff a lot through the years and then for some reason just stopped.  Some people consider it a comfort food and others feel it’s too difficult to make so they don’t.  I have never thought if difficult to make but my old version was quite high in fat content, so I knew if I made it I would be redeveloping the recipe.

The other day I was looking through my frig, saw some left over pork tenderloin and decided it was time to get working on the new version of Stroganoff!  I looked at my old recipe but also remembered one I had read in The Stocked Kitchen cookbook so  I found that one.  Switched things up a bit and just like a TV star says “in 30 minutes you can have a great meal”.    This recipe is very versatile where you can use pork tenderloin, chicken, beef tenderloin or just use portabella mushrooms and leave out the meat.    Enjoy 🙂

For comments/questions contact me 1lowfatdiva@gmail.com

Stroganoff

4 cups noodles (Penne, flat or what you like)

1/4 cup Shallots or 1/2 cup Onions chopped

4 oz fresh mushrooms (I use Portabella)

1 1/2 Tlb. Four

1 1/2 Tlb. Low Fat Oleo

1/4 tsp. Garlic Powder

1 cup Low Fat Chicken Broth

1/2 Tlb. Worcestershire Sauce

1/2 tsp. Dill Weed

1/2 cup No Fat Sour Cream

Left over cooked meat sliced thinly

Cook pasta according directions (a few minutes less for aldente).   In pan melt oleo over med heat, add shallots/onions and mushrooms.  Saute for about 5-6 minutes.  Stir in flour and garlic powder.  Whisk in broth gradually and bring to a boil, stirring occasionally until thickened.  This should take about 5-8 min.  Reduce heat and add sliced cooked meat (chicken, pork, etc).  Leave on warm for about 7 min. more.  Stir in the Worcestershire Sauce, dill weed and sour cream.  You can toss this with your drained pasta or you can serve on top of drained pasta.

Thanks to my friends at The Stocked Kitchen for the original recipe.

 

Leave a Reply

