Low Fat Diva Blog

Low Fat Lifestyle Recipes & Lowfat Cooking Tips

There Is Such A Thing As A Good Low Fat Cream Cheese Frosting!!!!! July 21, 2011

Filed under: Low Fat Diva Blog — lowfatdiva @ 3:21 pm

Oh my, oh my…………to say this recipe is deliciously fabulous is an understatement!  So far this recipe totally rocks anything that I have found/created so far!!  Just wait until you taste it…..that is if you can.

This weekend we are having a “family reunion” of sorts with my 2 children.  My son is coming home for the weekend from DC so my daughter and her family are coming to stay with us too.  I decided that my son misses so many birthdays that we would celebrate all of them during the weekend.  One request that I had was for Red Velvet Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting.  Oh boy was all I could think.  How was I going to make those be low fat and still be delicious.  I have tried with cream cheese frosting before and didn’t have the best of luck.  Just not happy with consistency or taste.  So it was off to the test kitchen and internet!  Problem was, we are having a huge heat wave (like the rest of the nation) and I had that to contend with also.

In my search, I found a way to take my old recipe and put a few different ingredients.  Made a batch and couldn’t believe that it was so wonderful!  It is not totally fat free but is a great deal lower in fat than my original by a great deal.  I used 1/3 less fat cream cheese so that I could still get the cream cheese flavor (lets face it the no fat has very little flavor), so were are still looking at 48 grams in the batch but you can limit the amount you have on your cupcake!    Enjoy 🙂  Comments/questions  1lowfatdiva@gmail.com

1 – 8oz package of 1/3  low fat cream cheese

2 tsp. cornstarch

6 oz of no fat/low fat whipped topping  thawed(I made the old fashion kind where you add no fat  1/2 & 1/2 to the dry mix and added less liquid – 3/4 cup)

1/2 cup sugar ( can cut back if you choose for a more tangy cream cheese flavor which I love)

Beat cream cheese, cornstarch together in bowl.  Add sugar and mix well.  If you are mixing up the whip topping do so in another bowl.  Take your whipped topping and gently fold it into the cream cheese.  Be sure it’s all incorporated together.  Place in frig for 30 – 40 min. before you frosting your cake/cupcakes.  Once you have frosted your cake/cupcakes be sure to store in frig…….so yummy!

 

Leave a Reply

