Low Fat Diva Blog

Low Fat Lifestyle Recipes & Lowfat Cooking Tips

Lightly Spiced Grilled Jalapenos August 17, 2011

Filed under: Appetizers & Drinks — lowfatdiva @ 12:20 pm

I was at our local Farmers Market and there was a booth that had a huge variety of different peppers.  Everything ranging from inferno peppers to sweet peppers.  I told the vendor I wanted something in the “middle” of heatness and was told the basic jalapeno would be just the right fit for what I wanted to prepare.  So I gathered my peppers and headed back home to start preparing my recipe.

I actually saw this idea on the Food Network Channel but they had a fancy grilling pan and the fat content was off the charts!  So knowing me, I was rewriting the entire thing trying to turn the recipe into one with less fat.  Here is the end result.  If you like jalapeno and would like to have a fun new appetizer, this is a recipe you will enjoy.  The biggest thing to remember is WASH your hands a thoroughly after you cut the jalapeno and take out the seeds!  I thought I washed mine enough but soon discovered that I had not.  I touched my face and lips and soon the burning started.  I remembered something my dad taught me regarding hot items and milk.  I put milk on a cloth and kept applying it to my face and lips until the burning stopped.  So please wash your hands repeatedly and use paper towel to wipe off your hands so you don’t spread the oil of the seeds onto the towel and use it on something else – ouch!

8 oz no fat/low fat cream cheese ( you can split and do 1/2 low fat and 1/2 no fat)

1/4 cup minced green onions

1 tsp. fresh lime juice

1/8 tsp sea salt

1 small garlic glove minced

1/3 cup no fat shredded cheddar cheese

cooking spray

2 Tlb. chopped fresh cilantro

2 Tlb. chopped seeded tomatoes

Warm grill to med. high.  Combine the cheeses, onions, lime juice, salt and garlic.  Stir to mix ingredients.  Let aside.  Cut each jalapeno in half and take out seeds.  Be sure to use gloves when you do this.  Fill each half of pepper with the cheese mixture.  Place the peppers directly on your grill rack that has been sprayed with cooking spray.  Lower the lid and grill for about 8 minutes or until the bottom of the peppers are a bit charred.  The cheese mixture will be lightly brown.  Put the peppers on a platter and sprinkle with the chopped tomatoes and cilantro.    Enjoy.  Remember the seeds are what is hot for a jalapeno not the pepper so much.  Even if you are not a fan of jalapenos, you should try one because you will be amazed they are not really that spicy 🙂

Please send comments/questions to 1lowfatdiva@gmail.com

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

