Low Fat Diva Blog

Low Fat Lifestyle Recipes & Lowfat Cooking Tips

Southwestern Salad August 18, 2011

Filed under: Salads — lowfatdiva @ 12:54 pm

My husband’s birthday is this week and his dinner request was smoked ribs, homemade bread, and pie – nope not a great deal of low fat in that request 🙂  Well, at least the bread was no problem being low fat!  My mom volunteered to make the pie and I headed to my recipe files to see what I could make.  The first thing I did was to do some research on ribs to see which were the lowest in fat content!  Answer – not good.  So I went with what I had in my freezer and started preparing them.  I did cut off as much of the fat as I could, put a great rub on them and put the ribs in the smoker.

My next find was the salad that I want to share with you.  A Southwestern Salad.  This salad is low in fat and has a great full flavor that can accompany ribs, burgers, brats or just about anything.  Enjoy 😉  Send comments/questions to 1lowfatdiva@gmail.com

Southwestern Salad

2 1/2 cups cut fresh green beans

1 cup of chopped fresh cilantro

1/4 cup fat free sour cream

2 Tlb. lime juice

2 Tlb. balsamic vinegar

2 cloves minced garlic

cayenne pepper

2 cups of roasted corn

Rinse and drain the following;  1 can Pinto beans and 1 can Black Beans.

1 small sweet red pepper, chopped

1 small red onion, chopped

1 –  4 oz can of green chilies

1 1/2 tsp. ground cumin

Blanch the green beans until they are crisp tender, rinse with cool water to stop the cooking process.  Drain the beans and pat dry.

Roast corn – I put the corn in a fry pan with very little spray and mix it around until the corn has a bit of brown on the kernels.   You can also roast the corn on the cob and then cut it off (my way is a bit easier and faster though).

In a small bowl mix the cilantro, sour cream, lime juice, vinegar, garlic, cumin, salt and a dash of cayenne.  In a larger bowl combine the green beans, roasted corn, pinto beans, black beans, red pepper, onion and chilies.  Add the dressing and gently toss to coat.  Cover and refrigerate until ready to serve.  I like to keep mine in the frig for at least 30 minutes so the flavors can blend.

 

Leave a Reply

