Low Fat Diva Blog

Low Fat Lifestyle Recipes & Lowfat Cooking Tips

Quick Cookies August 31, 2011

Filed under: Desserts — lowfatdiva @ 1:26 pm

To be honest I don’t really have a name for these cookies and I could just name them after my daughter because she gave me the recipe (without a name) but I decided to call them Quick Cookies because they are!  My daughter is gluten intolerant and she found this recipe somewhere.  She told me that since I used to love Rice Crispie  Squares, I would probably love this recipe because it did not call for any butter 🙂  She can eat them because they only have oats and rice so its a win, win situation for us.  I do hope you enjoy them – WARNING:  These cookies are addicting 🙂  Please send comments/questions to 1lowfatdiva@gmail.com

 

1/2 cup Better n Peanutbutter

1/2 cup honey

3 Tlb. brown sugar

1 tsp. vanilla

2 1/2 cups Rice Crisp Cereal

2 cups Old Fashion Oats

3/4 cup raisins or cranraisins

Spray an 8×8 pan that has been lined with foil first.

In a pan melt the Better n Peanutbutter, honey and brown sugar.  Do not boil but be sure they are melted together and warm.  Remove from heat and stir in vanilla.  Add the oats and cereal and stir well.  Add the raisins and cranraisins last.

Put mixture in prepared pan and carefully smooth out the cookie mixture because it will be warm.  Place in frig to cool.   Cut into squares and enjoy!  Keep the cookies in the frig if you want a firmer cookie or leave at room temp.

 

Leave a Reply

