Low Fat Diva Blog

Low Fat Lifestyle Recipes & Lowfat Cooking Tips

Halibut With Aioli September 19, 2011

Filed under: Main Dishes & Sandwiches — lowfatdiva @ 3:22 pm

The weather may be turning a bit cooler here in Michigan but I”m so not ready to think heavy foods like stew or roasts.  What I  do still think of is fish!  As I’ve stated in the past, I was brought up on an assortment of fish and I could eat it 3 days a week but, my husband on the other hand is not as much of a fan (his dad golfed not fished :)).  This recipe for crusted halibut is easy and very delicious.  I originally found the recipe in my Cooking Light Magazine but even with their version it was still 11 grams of fat – OUCH.  So, as you can imagine, I altered it a bit and it’s still just as delicious!  There is a bit of spice to this fish so I  pare it with some yellow saffron rice or I take white rice and after it’s cooked I quickly add some chopped fresh cilantro and fresh lime juice, cover the pan and let it sit for 5 min before I fluff the rice.   Enjoy!  For comments/questions 1lowfatdiva@gmaillcom

Halibut

  • 1 cup fat-free half & half
  • 1/4 cup egg beaters
  • 2 cups cornflakes, finely crushed
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons Blue Bonnet Light
  • 4 (6-ounce) halibut fillets
  • 4 lemon wedges

To Prepare Fish:

  • combine milk and egg white in a shallow dish, stirring well with a whisk. Combine cornflakes, flour, salt, and black pepper in another shallow dish.
  • Heat 2 tablespoons Blue Bonnet Light in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Dip fish in milk mixture, and dredge in cornflake mixture. Add fish to pan, and cook 4 minutes on each side ( I also spray each side with Pam Butter Flavored as I’m cooking it to crisp up the coating) or until fish flakes easily when tested with a fork or until desired degree of doneness.   Top with Aioli or serve with lemon wedges

Making the Aioli:  combine  2 Tlb. minced fresh cilantro, 3 Tlb. low fat mayonnaise,  1 serrano chili seeded and minced, and minced garlic and a squirt of fresh lime juice in a small bowl.  Stir well.  Place in frig so flavors can blend while fish cooks.

I have also put the fish on a ciabatta roll and served it as a sandwich.  Very delicious as main meal or lunch time!

 

Leave a Reply

