Low Fat Diva Blog

Low Fat Lifestyle Recipes & Lowfat Cooking Tips

Burrr Baby It’s Cold Outside! December 2, 2011

Filed under: Breakfast — lowfatdiva @ 2:00 pm

As I sit in my office drinking the fourth cup of coffee this morning, I decide after looking outside I desperately need to get make a list of everything  I have to get done on this busy Friday!  The first is to make a batch of Baked Oatmeal and the second is to call and have my tires rotated because I discovered at first light there was SNOW (yes that four letter word) on the ground!  OK, I realize it’s December and inevitable but I was hoping we would just have lots of cold and the snow wouldn’t show up until maybe Christmas Eve – a girl can dream right?

I have found over the last few years I really like oatmeal.  But maybe I should clarify that, not  “typical” oatmeal (instant from a package or a bowl of boring old fashion) I like backed oatmeal and I also like to copy MacDonalds new oatmeal.  I put a bit of brown sugar on my oatmeal and cut up some Granny Smith apples or even a few dates and sprinkle them on top of my bowl of oatmeal!  The recipe that I’m sharing with you today is very versatile.  You can make this with blueberries (fresh/frozen) dried fruit, apples, etc., what ever you or your family might like.

I make a batch of this (baked in 9″ square dish) and it will keep for a few days so I can just cut a square, place in the microwave, put a dollop of yogurt on top and maybe some fresh fruit…………….yummmmmm !  My mouth waters just thinking about it.  You could even make a batch of baked oatmeal and put it in a tinfoil pan to give out as one of your homemade Christmas gifts!     Enjoy.  For comments/questions please contact me 1lowfatdiva@gamil.com

 

Baked Oatmeal

4 cups of No Fat Half & Half

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 tsp. salt

1-2 Tlb. cinnamon

3 cups oatmeal ( I like to combine old fashion and quick)

1 tsp. Blue Bonnet Margarine Lite

2 cups of some fruit (chopped apples – Granny Smith, dates, raisins, dried pomegranates,  blueberries,  etc)

In a medium size cooking pot bring half & half, brown sugar, margarine and salt to a small boil.  Remove from heat, gently stir in cinnamon, fruit and oats.  Pour into a square 9″ baking ban that has been sprayed with Pam.

Bake in oven at 350 for 40-45 min. or until center is set.  Let rest 5 -8 min. before cutting.  Top each piece with a dollop of yogurt and some fresh fruit  – ENJOY!  Warm and filling.  Something the whole family will love.  Make a batch up on the weekend and use during the week as an easy, fast breakfast !

 

Leave a Reply

