Low Fat Diva Blog

Low Fat Lifestyle Recipes & Lowfat Cooking Tips

Another Bread Tip February 20, 2012

Filed under: Low Fat Diva Blog — lowfatdiva @ 5:35 pm
Tags: , , ,

I have been making and creating bread like a baker lately, which has been a great deal of fun!  But I was having a few issues with my breads when I added wheat flour to the recipe.  My mom’s always rose nicely and looked awesome (she is 81 and bakes bread at least 2 times a week) so I broke down and called her.  She first gave me “the weather makes a big difference” spiel and then asked how much wheat flour I was using (of course she also asks if I’m using the proper flour too).  I discovered by our conversation that I was in fact using too much wheat flour, you should only use about 1/2 cup in your recipes and you do need to add a bit more yeast but this will depend on how your family likes their bread.  I like mine a bit heavier but my husband likes his so light you hardly have to chew it.

I also have better luck using white wheat flour when I want to put a bit of wheat in my bread making.  And yes, mom is correct you really do need to use Better For Bread Flour.  She is very particular on the company she uses for her flour and will not compromise!  Hey, what can I say the woman is 81 so I guess she can be fussy all she wants, right?

Hope these tips help you!  For comments/questions email me ramona@lowfatdivablog.com

 

Leave a Reply

