Low Fat Diva Blog

Low Fat Lifestyle Recipes & Lowfat Cooking Tips

Homemade Pizza Crust February 22, 2012

Filed under: Bread & Muffins — lowfatdiva @ 3:18 pm
Tags: , , ,

I have used this recipe in my bread machine and it does require a bit of tweaking (depends on the bread machine).  The unique twist to the crust is the honey that is added to the recipe!   Remember you can “flavor” your pizza crust when you are putting your ingredients in the bread machine nut just when the crust is being baked.  For dessert type crust you can add coconut flavor, banana, butter, almond, etc.  But keep the honey in the recipe even if your crust is going to be used for a savory crust.     Enjoy!   For comments/questions email me  ramona@lowfatdivablog.com

 

Recipe for Homemade Pizza Crust

1 cup warm water

3 cups flour

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 tablespoon honey

1/2 teaspoon sea salt

2 teaspoons dry yeast

Place ingredients in bread machine as listed.  Use the dough setting for your machine.  When cycle has completed, put dough on lightly floured surface.  If the dough is too sticky, knead in some more flour to make a moderately stiff dough.  Cut the dough into 4 equal pieces and let rest for 10 minutes.  This is also the time you can form the dough into a ball, place into a freezer bag  and freeze if you do not want to use all of it.

After the 10 minute rest, pat out your dough into a circle that measures 10″ (more or less depending on how thick you like your crust).  I place my dough on a lightly Pam sprayed baking sheet (unless you have a pizza stone then omit the spray) and put in an oven for about 3-5 minutes at 400 degrees.  Then I pull out pizza crust and place my toppings that I like on the crust.  I find my toppings don’t dry out and get over cooked while waiting for my crust to brown up.  You basically give your crust a head start.

This crust is also the one that I use when I make my grilled pizza during the Summer/Fall!

Homemade Pizza Dough

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

