Low Fat Diva Blog

Low Fat Lifestyle Recipes & Lowfat Cooking Tips

Remember Texas Sheet Cake??? April 7, 2012

I loved this cake growing up and can remember being memorized as I watched my mom make this delicious cake.  So moist and delicious, lots of memories with that cake!

Well, as I was looking through some recipes one day, I ran across the recipe and after I shuttered from all the butter in the recipe I wondered if there was a chance I could lower the fat content.  It took a few tries and I”m still not thrilled with all the fat content, but as I have told you when it come to baking sometimes you just can’t lower the fat because the item will not work out.  That was how things went for me with this cake, yet by using egg beaters instead of eggs, Blue Bonnet Lite and low fat buttermilk things were a bit better.  I hope you can make some memories with your family as you make this new version of Texas Sheet Cake.     Enjoy!  For comments/questions email me ramona@lowfatdivablog.com

 

Texas Sheet Cake

2 cups flour

2 cups white sugar

1` tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp. salt

3/4 cup water

1/2 cup Blue Bonnet Lite

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa divided

1/2 cup low fat buttermilk

1 Tlb. vanilla (divided out)

1/2 cup Egg Beaters

4 Tlb. Butter

1/3 cup no fat half & half

3 cups powdered sugar

1/4 cup chopped pecans

Coast a 15 x 10 in baking sheet with Pam.  Dust with 2 tsp flour.  Set aside

Lightly spoon flour, sugar, baking soda and salt in a large bowl.  Whisk together.  In a saucepan combine the water, 1/2 cup Blue Bonnet Lite and 1/4 cup cocoa powder ( I use Hershey Dark).  Bring the mixture to a boil, stirring frequently.  Pour into the flour mixture.  Beat with a mixer on medium speed until well blended.  Add buttermilk, 1 tsp. of vanilla and eggs, beat well.  Pour batter into your baking sheet.  Bake at 375 for about 13-15 min. (don’t over bake).  Place on wire rack to cool.

Combine 4 Tlb. of Blue Bonnet Lite, fat free half & half and 1/4 cup of cocoa powder in a saucepan.  Bring to a boil, stirring constantly.  Remove from heat.  Gradually stir in the powdered sugar until mixture is smooth.  Add 2 tsp vanilla and pecans.  Pour/spread over warm cake.  Cool completely (if you can) before you cut!  Delish!!!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

