Low Fat Diva Blog

Low Fat Lifestyle Recipes & Lowfat Cooking Tips

Coffee Cakes April 23, 2012

Filed under: Breakfast,Desserts — lowfatdiva @ 12:55 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I like coffee cakes and I have some great recipes but most can’t be “re-made” because I don’t like the texture once I take out all the fat! But the two recipes I want to share with you today are different and you will find one has quite a unique taste that is not lost by cutting back on the fat and the other has a great punch of blueberry flavor, you will never know it’s low in fat.

When I was young I didn’t have store bought bread, cookies or baked goods, my mom made everything or we just didn’t have it.  I think her motto was if we couldn’t bake it, we didn’t need it.  This in mind, I could not relate to ever trying a Entenmanns store bought crumb cake.  I recently started following a food blogger  named “Loose Weight By Eating” (great site and very inspirational story), she shared a recipe for crumb cake so I thought I would try it and as you all know me, I did change a couple of things.  I didn’t use butter, I used Blue Bonnet Lite and egg beaters of course but one thing I did really want to try was the almond milk that she seems to use in many of her recipes.

So, today I’m giving you two very different coffee cakes that are full of flavor but not fat.  Each makes a 8 x 8  pan so as one cooks you can easily whip up the other and have some for the rest of the week.  The blueberry coffee cake is on the next post.     Enjoy!    For comments/questions  ramona@lowfatdivablog.com

Crumb Cake (Lose Weight By Eating – blog site)

Topping

1/3 cup sugar

1/3 cup brown sugar

3/4 tsp. cinnamon

1 1/2 Tlb. Blue Bonnet Lite – melted and cooled a bit

1/2 cup applesauce

1 3/4 cup flour

Mix dry ingredients together with a whisk.  Add the butter and the apple sauce to the dry mixture and mix well.  This will be very stiff and should be crumbly.  Cover and set aside while you make the base of the coffee cake.

Cake

1 1/4 cup flour

1/2 c sugar

1/4 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. baking soda

1 1/2 Tlb. Blue Bonnet Lite – soft but cool

1/2 cup applesauce

1 tsp. vanilla

1/3 cup almond milk

1/4 cup egg beaters

Combine the flour, sugar, salt and soda in a bowl.  Whisk to combine.  Add the butter and cut in with pastry blender.  Stir in apple sauce.  Make sure it’s all incorporated very well.  You will have a “sandy” type mixture.  Add the vanilla, milk and egg beaters.  Mix with blender on med. for about 1-2 minutes.  The batter will be very thick.

Spread the batter into a 8 x8 pan that has been greased with Pam.  Break your crumb topping mixture into pea size pieces and sprinkle over the top of the batter so that it’s fully covered.

Bake  in 325 degree oven for 35-40 minutes (time will depend on your stove, be sure to not over bake it).

You can sprinkle the top of the crumb cake with a bit of powdered sugar if you want after it’s cooled – I didn’t and it’s awesome warm!

 

Leave a Reply

