Low Fat Diva Blog

Low Fat Lifestyle Recipes & Lowfat Cooking Tips

Bacon, Egg, Cheese & Raisin Sandwich June 5, 2012

Filed under: Main Dishes & Sandwiches — lowfatdiva @ 4:27 pm
Tags:

        The key to this sandwich is the raisin bread!

When my daughter told me this was one of her favorite sandwiches I was quite hesitant but last night decided to give it a try.  She always used a raisin bagel but I opted for home made raisin bread.  I used a spicy cheese but you can use any low fat white cheese that you would like.  The blend of the flavors is wonderful!

Bacon,egg,cheese & raisin sandwich

Fry up at least 3 slices of turkey bacon or some low fat bacon for each sandwich you are going to make and drain on paper towel.

Slice some low fat pepper jack cheese for each sandwich or you can use a low fat Munster

In a skillet fry egg beaters as you would for an omelet.

I like my bread thick as you can see by the pictures.  Slice your bread, lay 3 slices of bacon on one half, divide up the prepared egg beaters and fold in half over the bacon.  Top the egg with slice of cheese and top with the other piece of bread.

I then sprayed my bread with a bit of Butter flavored Pam and lightly warmed my sandwich in a small frying pan on each side.  This gave the cheese an opportunity to melt.  I didn’t want a crunchy bread for my base so I didn’t toast the bread in the toaster first.  The bread was still dense but soft.

This blend of a sandwich definitely passed the BITE test.  The mixture of sweet, salty and spicy was wonderful!     Enjoy!  For comments/questions please contact me ramona@lowfatdivablog.com

 

Leave a Reply

