Low Fat Diva Blog

Low Fat Lifestyle Recipes & Lowfat Cooking Tips

Fabulous Chicken BBQ Sandwich June 13, 2012

Who said to have a really good BBQ sandwiches it had to be made from pork?  Definitely not me.  A friend of mine who does not eat very much pork wanted to know if there was a way to make BBQ with chicken and still have it taste good.  Of course, I replied and then headed to the test kitchen to see if I could make it work!  I made it a couple of ways at first.  I have a rotisserie thing for chicken (like at a grocery store but the chicken stands) and I put some rub spices on a chicken and cooked it that way.  Liked the result but then, I only used the breast because that is the lean/low fat part of the chicken so I was a bit of a waste for me.  However, if you utilize the  entire chicken it would work.  The next process that I tried was to grill/smoke some really large chicken breast, let them cool for at least 30 minutes and then shred them for the sandwich.  This was a way I liked the best.

I think you will enjoy the B.I.T.E. test with this sandwich a great deal.  Enjoy!  For comments/questions email  ramona@lowfatdivablog.com

 

BBQ Chicken Sandwich

1/2 cup ketchup

2 Tlb. honey mustard

2 Tlb water

3/4 tsp. ancho chile powder

3/4 tsp. smoked paprika

1/2 tsp onion powder

1/2 tsp. ground cumin

1/2 tsp Worcestershire sauce

1/8 tsp. salt

3 cups cooked shredded chicken (if you use rotisserie chicken take off skin too)

3 Tlb. low fat mayo

2 Tlb cider vinegar

1 tsp. sugar

3 cups coleslaw

1/3 cup chopped green onions (greens too)

combine the ketchup, honey mustard, water,chile powder, smoked paprika, garlic powder, onion powder, ground cumin, Worcestershire sauce and salt in a saucepan.  Bring to a simmer and cook for about 10 minutes.  combine the sauce and the chicken.

In a bowl, whisk the mayo, vinegar and sugar together.  Add the coleslaw and onions.  Mix well.  Place about 1/2 cup of chicken mixture on a cibatta bun or roll.  top each with about 1/4-1/3 of slaw mixture.  Enjoy!

 

NOTE:  you can use a regular hamburg bun, by why when there are so many different types of buns/rolls out there.  Remember the B. in your B.I.T.E.  test

 

Leave a Reply

