Low Fat Diva Blog

Low Fat Lifestyle Recipes & Lowfat Cooking Tips

A Beer Slush – Oh Yea! July 12, 2012

Filed under: Diva's Brew-ha,Low Fat Diva Blog — lowfatdiva @ 12:33 am
Tags: , , ,

When I first heard about making a beer slush, I was not sure if I would like it but with all the 95+ weather we have been having in the Mitten, it became a must try.  So I did!  I have to admit this idea might be more of a “chick” thing than a guy thing.  My husband tried it but I could tell it was not something he would ask me to make.

For the first one I made I used my raspberry wheat but also made a second one with a Belgian white beer.  I honestly think a smooth stout would be good too.  So if you are in a heat wave like we have been here in the mitten, try  making a beer slush to cool off.    Enjoy!!!!  For comments/questions contact me ramona@lowfatdivablog.com

Beer Slush

You will basically be makeing the beer into a granita.  Pour 1 beer (lager, flavored stout or flavored wheat – not sure about what IPA would be like but feel free to try it and tell us :)) into a shallow glass baking dish.  Place the dish in the freezer, scraping it every 30 minutes or so with a fork for about 2 hours.  Spoon the granita into a mug or pilsner glass.  Top with a bit of lemonade or limeade concentrate.  Take out spoon and devour slowly!

 

Leave a Reply

