Low Fat Diva Blog

Low Fat Lifestyle Recipes & Lowfat Cooking Tips

Beer Butt Chicken July 17, 2012

Filed under: Diva's Brew-ha,Main Dishes & Sandwiches — lowfatdiva @ 8:42 pm
Tags:

You would have to be living under a rock if you have not heard the term “beer butt chicken”.  I  remember years ago my dad gave my husband a contraption he found at a flee market in Florida that was especially for making beer butt chicken.  We laughed at the gift but one day decided to give it a whirl, ok, I decided to try it.

The chicken was delicious, tender and very moist so I was sold on the idea.  I actually still have my beer butt chicken contraption that dad gave us and use it during the grilling season a great deal.  I now use a soda can (because we don’t purchase can beer anymore since we brew our own) and add what ever flavor of beer I want.  Last night (only 92 degrees outside instead of the 99 today) I made a beer butt chicken and put my husband’s clone of Oberon, I also cut up some oranges to put in the cavity of the bird, a bit of fresh garlic, some cilantro and some pepper.  The bird was wonderful!!!

You can use what ever beer type you would like.  Just pour some (3/4 of the can full) in a soda can/beer can, season the inside of the bird with what ever seasonings you would like but that would also compliment the beer (would not recommend a beer with a great deal of hops like an IPA – this might make the chicken too bitter), place the can with the open side up into the cavity of the bird with legs dangling and place on the grill over indirect heat.  If you have the contraption for beer butt chicken, the chicken will sit much better 🙂  A 3.5 – 4 pound chicken will take about 1.5 – 2 hours to cook, depending on your grill.  Just be sure to place the bird over indirect heat so you don’t burn it.  I have also placed this contraption in my smoker and it was so tasty.    Enjoy!!!!!  For comments/questions email ramona@lowfatdivablog.com

 

Leave a Reply

