Low Fat Diva Blog

Low Fat Lifestyle Recipes & Lowfat Cooking Tips

Creamy Roasted Tomato Bisque October 8, 2012

Every time I turn around my husband is bringing home tomatoes, all sorts of sizes and varieties.  Since I don’t can tomatoes, I just give him the “what am I going to do with more tomatoes” look?  Well, the other day as I was making plans to go and see one of my friends who is currently taking chemo treatments I found myself staring at all the tomatoes on my counter.  Hummm, what to make????  Ahhh, ha tomato bisque!  I knew I had the perfect recipe because the it called for different types of tomatoes and I certainly had a plethora of them.  This recipe can be spiced up a bit if you choose to but since I was taking it to my friend I decided to make her batch a bit more mellow and only added the “zing” to the batch I kept back for us.

So the next time someone offers you more tomatoes, say yes! And make some of my creamy roasted tomato bisque.     Enjoy!!!!  For comments/questions email ramona@lowfatdivablog.com

Creamy Roasted Tomato Bisque

2 1/2  pounds fresh tomatoes (mix of heirlooms, cherry, vine, and plum tomatoes)

2 small yellow onions, sliced

6 garlic cloves, peeled

2 Tlb.  extra-virgin olive oil

4  cups chicken broth

2 bay leaves

2  tablespoons Blue Bonnet Lite

1/2  cup chopped fresh basil leaves

3/4  cup no fat half & half

1  cup croutons (optional)

Directions

Preheat oven to 450 degrees F. Wash, core, and cut the tomatoes into halves. Spread the tomatoes, onions, and garlic onto a baking tray.  Drizzle  the olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Roast for 20 to 30 minutes, until caramelized.

Transfer the remaining roasted tomatoes and the onions and garlic to a large stockpot. Pour in any roasting liquid from the tray, about 3 cups of the chicken broth, the bay leaves, and Blue Bonnet. Bring to a boil, reduce heat, and simmer about 15 – 17 minutes, until liquid has reduced by a third.  Remove from heat and let cool  a bit.

Remove and discard bay leaves. Add chopped basil leaves. Puree the soup with an immersion blender until smooth or you can use a blender. Return soup to low heat; add the 3/4 cup no fat half & half (adjust consistency with remaining chicken broth, if necessary). Season to taste with salt and pepper.  If you like, you can garnish each bowl with home made  croutons.

 

 

Leave a Reply

