Low Fat Diva Blog

Low Fat Lifestyle Recipes & Lowfat Cooking Tips

Gluten Free Pot Pie November 30, 2012

I have been trying  gluten free recipes lately like wild fire but they have basically burned in flames – in other words they were just disgusting (Squash,Pineapple Pie – sorry Living Without but yuck). Sooooo I have been slow on posting any good recipes.

A woman asked me one day about my recipes and I told her that if I couldn’t eat them, I surely was not going to post them for my readers to try!  Granted everyone’s taste is different but at least I know they don’t taste like mush, cardboard or rubber.  That brings me to the new recipe that I’m sharing with you today.  This one has been tried and true by my mom and my daughter.  Actually my mom gave it to my daughter because she wanted a good pot pie recipe and my daughter didn’t have one but as you can imagine there had to be some re-structuring to the recipe.  I think it definitely came out great and if you have any left over turkey or ham from the holiday, it would work great in this pot pie recipe.   Enjoy!!!!  For comments/questions email ramona@lowfatdivablog.com

Gluten Free Pot Pie
5 Tbs butter
1 cup diced onion
2 cups mushrooms
2 tsp minced garlic
5 Tbs Gluten Free all purpose flour
3 cups Gluten Free chicken stock
1/2 cup half and half
4 cups mixed veggies of your choice (I like frozen veggies for soup since they have all my favorites and potatoes)
2 cups cubed cooked chicken/turkey/ham
1 Tbs Herbs d’ Provance
1 prepared Gluten Free pie crust of your choice *see notes*
1 egg beaten with 1 tsp of water (egg wash)
salt and pepper to taste
Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Lightly grease 4 16 oz mini casserole dishes or a 13×9 pan
Melt the butter over medium heat. Add the onion and saute for 3-4 minutes. Add the mushrooms and garlic and cook for 4-5 minutes. Stir in the flour and cook, stirring consistently (about 3-4 minutes) until it is a light blonde color. Stir in the chicken stock and bring the liquid up to a boil. Reduce and simmer and continue to cook until the sauce starts to thicken, about 4-6 minutes. Add the mixed veggies, chicken and season with salt and paper and herbs d’Provance
Divide the mixture in either the casserole dishes or the 13×9 pan. Transfer the pie crust to the dishes/pan and lightly brush with the egg wash. Place in the oven and bake for 20-25 minutes or until the pie crust is golden brown.
*Note: In lieu of pie crust I have taken 1 cup GF bread crumbs and mixed it with 2-3 Tbs melted butter and sprinkled it on the top of the filling for equally delish results
 

Leave a Reply

