Low Fat Diva Blog

Low Fat Lifestyle Recipes & Lowfat Cooking Tips

Blended Mayo December 2, 2012

Filed under: Appetizers & Drinks — lowfatdiva @ 5:37 pm
Tags:

When my son came home for Thanksgiving this year he was telling me all about a mayo that he had just made for a dinner party, duck fat mayo.  He was so proud of the deviled eggs he made with it and the fact his guests loved it!  Well, I’m not going to give you a recipe for duck fat mayo but I do have some fun blends you can add to low fat mayo to give it a new twist.  I like having a variety of mayo on my buffet table that my guests can use with the open faced sandwiches I have or on crostini.  Delish!     Enjoy!!!! For comments/questions email ramona@lowfatdivablog.com

Horseradish Mayo

Stir together 1/2 cup low fat mayo, 1 Tlb. horseradish, 2 tsp. chopped fresh chives, 2 tsp. fresh lemon juice and 1/4 tsp pepper (I use white pepper).  cover in an airtight container for at least 2 hours before you serve it, make it the night before if you can because the flavors infuse better.

 

Fresh Herb Mayo

Stir together 1/2 cup low fat mayo, 1 Tlb chopped fresh Italian parsley, 1 Tlb chopped fresh basil, 1 Tlb. chopped fresh chives and 1 pressed garlic clove (I used a bit more).  Cover  in an airtight container and chill for at least 2 hours or over night.

 

Spicy Chipotle Mayo

Stir together 1/2 cup low fat mayo, 1 Tlb. chopped chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, 1/2 tsp fresh lime zest  and 1 tsp fresh lime juice.  Cover in airtight container and chill for 2 hours or over night.

 

Citrus Garlic Mayo

Stir together 1/2 cup low fat mayo, 1 Tlb. fresh orange juice, 2 tsp. lemon juice and 1 pressed garlic clove (I use a bit more).  I have also added a bit of cayenne pepper to give it a sweet, spicy taste but it also depends on what meat you will be paring it up with.

 

Leave a Reply

