Low Fat Diva Blog

Low Fat Lifestyle Recipes & Lowfat Cooking Tips

LIghter Version Of Egg Nog December 17, 2012

Filed under: Appetizers & Drinks — lowfatdiva @ 12:12 pm
Tags:

A glass of traditional egg nog can be over 16 grams of fat and almost 500 calories – OUCH.  Although I”m not a big egg nog fan I did have some of my readers who are and were in need of finding a way to enjoy this holiday cheer with a lot less fat.

When you look at egg nog it’s pretty thick and I knew just diluting it down might solve the issue but would take away from the creaminess people were used to with the taste of egg nog (plus my husband who loves the stuff was not a fan of the watered down version).  So back to the Test Kitchen I went and kept thinking about the words people used to describe egg nog; creamy, rich and smooth…………..ummmm, what else has those characteristics? Ice cream!  It’s  creamy, rich and smooth even when it’s melted.  I had just a small amount of Breyers low fat vanilla yogurt ice cream (http://www.breyers.com/) and decided to melt a bit of it in a glass.  I then added 1 tablespoon of bourbon and about 1/2 tablespoon of brandy while the ice cream was still in the melting stage.  Just before my husband tried it I sprinkled a bit of nutmeg and cinnamon on the top (plus it looked festive) and had him sample it.

To my delight he had no idea I melted ice cream to make the low fat version of egg nog!  I used Breyers but you could use any low fat vanilla ice cream that you choose to.  The main thing you realize is the fat content when you make your egg nog creation for your guests – Delish    Enjoy!!!  For comments/questions email ramona@lowfatdivablog.com

IMAG0194

 

Leave a Reply

