Low Fat Diva Blog

Low Fat Lifestyle Recipes & Lowfat Cooking Tips

Spicy Chow Mein Mix December 28, 2012

Filed under: Appetizers & Drinks — lowfatdiva @ 12:05 pm
Tags: , ,
I found this recipe in one of my old files and had totally forgot about it, so I checked things in my pantry and decided to make it.  At first I thought since I didn’t have any chow mein noodles I would just substitute with pretzels but on second thought decided to make a quick stop to the store and get some.  For some reason the chow mein noodles intrigued me and they brought back some great childhood memories of eating the noodles out of the can when my mom made Chinese for us.
You can substitute different fruits but I suggest you try the recipe as it is because the blend really is quite nice and I”m not a big date girl.  But the mix just works……so well in fact it was gone in minutes!  In the picture you will notice some cashews in the mix.  I had only 1/2 cup of peanuts so I had to put a few cashews in to get my full cup but I like the dry roasted instead because of the fat content difference.  For comments/questions email   ramona@lowfatdivablog.com
Spicy Chow Mein Mix
1/4  cup jalapeno pepper jelly
1/4  teaspoon five-spice powder
2  tablespoons butter
1/4  teaspoon salt
1/4  teaspoon bottled hot pepper sauce
1  dry roasted peanuts
1  cup dried banana chips
1  cup dried pineapple chunks, cut up
1  cup chopped dates
2 cup chow mein noodles
In a medium saucepan combine jelly, butter, five-spice powder, salt, and pepper sauce. Heat over low heat until jelly is melted. Stir in remaining ingredients until well coated. Pour mixture into a large roasting pan.
Bake in a 350 degree oven  for 15 to 20 minutes, stirring once. Remove from oven. Spread mixture on a large piece of foil to cool. Store in an airtight container up to 3 days. Makes about 6 cups (16 servings).
NOTE: You can adjust the “spice” by omitting the hot pepper sauce or just cutting back to 1/8 tsp.  but it really is not all that spicy, so don’t worry that it’s over the top.
Chow Mein Mix
 

Leave a Reply

