Low Fat Diva Blog

Low Fat Lifestyle Recipes & Lowfat Cooking Tips

January 23, 2013

I have been to Perrin Brewery three times so far and I can happily say each time gets better.  Perrin’s variety of beer is pretty good now and the sample flights can consist of 1 or every beer they have on the menu.  The taste sampling is one of my favorite parts of going to a brewery not because I like to drink beer but because I love to taste sample!  I know, it sounds strange but it’s me!  As I taste sample I make notes about any beer that I like and how I think that beer/flavor might go into a recipe.

On our recent trip we sampled 9 different types of beer.  Some were quite good (like the Rogue Rye and the Black Lager) and some I made “my face” which tells my husband the beer had way to much hop  and he would probably love it.  Our waitress Kelley was very knowledgeable on all the beer selections and one she thought I should try was the Raspberry Blonde so I did.  It was mild. very raspberry forward in taste and actually did not have a great deal of beer flavor.  I was surprised that even my mom was not fond of it and she is just getting into craft beer at 82! Both my mom and mother in law actually liked the darker beers we tried (Vanilla Stout, Black Lager and Rogue Rye).

After I tasted the Schwarzbier and the Rogue Rye I knew immediately either one would be the right flavor to add in my Hearty Beer Pork Stew.  Both are not extremely heavy tasting beers but either one could hold their own in the stew.  Using a hoppy beer like Perrin’s Strong Pale or the IPA would not produce a good flavor for the stew because of the bittering of hops.  Perrin is not bottling quite yet but you can purchase growlers of any beer they have on tap, which is what I did so I could make my stew with the Rogue Rye. It was a harmonious blend and didn’t disappoint me with flavor for the stew (next time I want to try the Schwarzbier).

Perrin Brewery has a limited menu but one could probably find something they would like.  I think  food was an afterthought because they have a trailer in the back as their kitchen (a must see when you go there) In the past I have tried a couple of the sandwiches and have not been thrilled (neither was my husband), so this time I tried the hamburger and it was quite good.  It was cooked as I requested and the size was appropriate.  My mom and husband decided to go out on a limb and try the chili dog.  Both were quite pleased with their choices.  Perrin Brewery would definitely be a place that I would recommend for anyone who is just learning to appreciate craft beer as well as someone who feels they are a  Beer Jedi.  I can’t tell you if it’s kid friendly because I have not been in the brewery when there are any kids.

On a final note I have to say the bathrooms are awesome!  I love the troth style sink and the hand dryers are so strong they will literally blow you away.    Enjoy!!!!  For comments/questions please contact me ramona@lowfatdivablog.com

Perrin Brewery is located 5910 Comstock Park Dr., Comstock Park, MI 49321  616-551-1957

http://perrinbrewing.com – the web site will give you hours and their menu

Part of our sample flight

 

My husband and my mother in law along with our great server, Kelley

 

 

My mom reading about which beer she would be trying next!

 

Hearty Beer Pork Stew

1# of Pork Tenderloin (cut into bite size pieces)

2 tablespoons flour

1 small Onion (roughly chopped)

2 medium parsnip (peeled & roughly chopped)

2 carrots (peeled & roughly chopped)

2 med. Yukon Gold Potatoes or Red Potatoes (roughly chopped with skins on) NOTE: You can use whole small potatoes too

1 tablespoon rosemary

1 cup no fat chicken stock

1-½ cups Perrin’s Schwarzbier or Perrin’s Rogue Rye (http://perrinbrewing.com)

Salt & Pepper

2 tablespoon Blue Bonnet Lite

4-6 oz. portabella mushrooms

Put flour and a bit of salt & pepper in a bowl.  Add pork pieces just a few at a time to dust the pieces in flour.  Melt the oleo in a pot and brown the pork pieces.  After all the pieces have been browned add the left over flour to the pan.  Add the rosemary, onions, mushrooms, beer and stock stirring to dissolve the flour (you will also be deglazing the pan to get all the deliciousness from the bottom of the pan).  Bring to a boil and quickly reduce the heat to a low simmer for 1.5hours.  In the last ½ hour add all the vegetables (parsnip, carrot, potatoes) and cook.

I serve this with a rustic bread and usually make a double batch because it tastes even better the next day!

 

Leave a Reply

