Low Fat Diva Blog

Low Fat Lifestyle Recipes & Lowfat Cooking Tips

Creamy Cauliflower Sauce April 8, 2013

Filed under: Main Dishes & Sandwiches,Soups & Veggies — lowfatdiva @ 1:06 pm
Tags: ,

Many thanks to Pinch of Yum for this next recipe,  although I did tweak it a bit, the main premise for the recipe came from Pinch of Yum off Pinterest.   Even though I have a Pinterest site, I very rarely go onto it, mainly because it’s so darn addictive!  Recently, someone sent me a notice they were “following” me on Pinterest so I went on the site to take a look and that is how I found Pinch of Yum and her recipe for Creamy Cauliflower Sauce.  I made this recipe and used it instead of the usual Alfredo sauce I make and my husband could tell a slight difference but only thought I had added a new spice.

This recipe would be another great way for you to introduce cauliflower into your diet.  The woman behind Pinch of Yum stated that she uses this sauce for lots of different recipes that call for heavy fattening sauces and I too can see where it would work in a variety of different applications.   Enjoy!!!!

 

Ingredients
  • 8 large cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tablespoons Blue Bonnet Lite
  • 5-6 cups cauliflower florets
  • 6-7 cups chicken broth
  • 1 teaspoon salt (more to taste)
  • ½ teaspoon pepper (more to taste)
  • ½ cup no fat 1/2 & 1/2
Instructions
  1. Garlic: Saute the minced garlic with the Blue Bonnet Lite in a large nonstick skillet over low heat. Cook for several minutes or until the garlic is soft and fragrant but not browned (browned or burnt garlic will taste bitter). Remove from heat and set aside.
  2. Cauliflower: Bring the chicken broth to a boil in a large pot. Add the cauliflower and cook, covered, for 7-10 minutes or until cauliflower is fork tender. Do not drain.
  3. Puree: Use a slotted spoon to transfer the cauliflower pieces to the blender or emulsion. Add 1 cup broth, sautéed garlic/butter, salt, pepper, and no fat 1/2 & 1/2. Blend or puree  for several minutes until the sauce is very smooth, adding more broth or 1/2 & 1/2 depending on how thick you want the sauce. You may have to do this in batches depending on the size of your blender. Serve hot! If the sauce starts to look dry, add a few drops of broth, 1/2 & 1/2 or olive oil
Notes
I like to add a little bit of olive oil for the flavor and to help keep the sauce really smooth.  When I used the sauce as my Alfredo I added about 2-3 tablespoons of fresh grated Parmesan cheese to the sauce.  I also tossed in some shrimp and broccoli to really have some fun with this new sauce!!!  Wahoooooo
broccoli alfredo
 

Leave a Reply

