Low Fat Diva Blog

Low Fat Lifestyle Recipes & Lowfat Cooking Tips

Stuffed Peppers April 10, 2013

Wait a minute, don’t roll your eyes and curl up your nose – I already did that when my daughter first had me try these!  When I was young my mom made stuffed peppers and I could not stand them.  Wilted, soggy, gross, are the words I believe I used to describe them.  However, a couple of months ago while staying at my daughters looking after the little girls, I found a dinner she had prepared for us and it was stuffed peppers.  I thought for sure the little girls would want me to make something different that night for them but to my amazement they were thrilled with having stuffed peppers for dinner – Wow.

The peppers were placed in muffin tins like these.  Which I thought was a fantastic idea and notice the peppers are different colors.

stuffed-peppers-in a tin

The mixture she put in the inside was of turkey sausage and venison sausage along with rice.  The youngest of my granddaughters is lactose intolerant so we sprinkle dairy free cheese on her pepper.

What I like about these stuffed peppers – yes, you read correctly I like them, is the pepper is still aldente’  and there is not tomato sauce stuff all over them.  This recipe might just be the ticket to getting your family or even yourself to try stuffed peppers.  Enjoy!!!!  For comments/questions email ramona@lowfatdivablog.com

Stuffed Peppers

4 large peppers (green, red, yellow or orange), tops cut off and cleaned out

1 lb turkey or combination of sausage that is low in fat

1/2 cup chopped onion

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 can (14 oz) diced tomatoes

2 tablespoons chopped fresh Italian basil

2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro

2 teaspoons Italian seasoning

1 cup cooked orzo

salt & fresh ground pepper

1/2 cup low fat shredded mozzarella cheese

Directions:

1.  Saute sausage and onion until browned.  Add garlic and saute for 3 minutes.

2.  Stir in tomatoes, fresh herbs and Italian seasoning , simmer for 5 minutes.  Stir in orzo and season with salt and pepper, to taste.

3.  Stuff sausage and rice mixture into the hollowed out peppers.  Place inside muffin pan and sprinkle with low fat mozzarella cheese.

4.  Bake at 350 degrees F. for 25-30 minutes, or until peppers are tender but still crisp.  Do not over bake or they will not only fall apart but the flavor will not be there.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

