Low Fat Diva Blog

Low Fat Lifestyle Recipes & Lowfat Cooking Tips

Apricot BBQ Sauce June 9, 2013

Filed under: Gluten Free,Main Dishes & Sandwiches — lowfatdiva @ 5:29 pm

Usually I always make chicken breasts but my husband asked if we could please have some “chicken with bones” and I wanted to experiment with some apricot preserves I had in my cupboard because I couldn’t for the life of me figure out why I bought them 🙂  I came up with this pretty nice bbq sauce that I know my daughter will also be able to eat because it’s gluten free.  Enjoy!!!!  For comments/questions email ramona@lowfatdivablog.com

Apricot BBQ Sauce

2/3 cup apricot preserves

2 tablespoons Dijon mustard
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon finely chopped fresh ginger
1/4 cup ketchup

Chicken breast or legs

Apricot BBQ sauce: Stir apricot preserves, mustard, garlic powder, ginger and ketchup until combined. Set aside. NOTE:  I also added just a few red pepper flakes to give it a bit of zing.

Remove skin from chicken /breast/legs. Season all over with salt and pepper. Grill 25 to 30 minutes, turning occasionally or until an instant-read thermometer registers 160 degrees F. Brush chicken with half the sauce during the last 5 minutes of cooking.  Remove from heat and cover with foil to let rest for at least 10 minutes.  Serve remaining sauce on the side.  Coating the chicken too far in advance tends to lead to burning of the chicken and the last thing you want is dry, burnt chicken.

I grilled my asparagus along with the chicken so there was no pans to clean!

FC041807FDGRI003

 

Leave a Reply

