Low Fat Diva Blog

Low Fat Lifestyle Recipes & Lowfat Cooking Tips

Mushroom Ragu September 17, 2013

Filed under: Appetizers & Drinks,Gluten Free,Main Dishes & Sandwiches — lowfatdiva @ 3:27 pm

I love mushrooms and I don’t think that I’ve tried one I have not liked yet!  I don’t go out and hunt for them here in the Mitten because I would be the person who would find the wrong one and poison my meal – uggg.  So I leave the hunting to the market where I purchase my groceries or to the wonderful young man who I ment who recently started growing gourmet mushrooms.

I found this recipe for Mushroom Ragu and with a few tweaks it’s taste wonderful and can be placed on anything from baked potatoes to fresh pasta or just eaten right from the pan 😉   Enjoy!!!!    For comments/questions email ramona@lowfatdivablog.com

 

Mushroom Ragu

 

2   tablespoons unsalted butter

4   pounds mixed wild mushrooms (be sure to include some portabella for a great “meaty flavor)

Salt and freshly ground pepper

1 white onion, finely chopped

4 garlic cloves, minced

1   cup dry white wine

1   cup beef stock or low-sodium broth

1   tablespoon chopped tarragon

2   teaspoons chopped thyme

 

In a large, deep skillet, melt the butter . Add the mushrooms, season with salt and pepper and cook over high heat, stirring occasionally, until tender, 20 minutes. Add the onion and garlic and cook, stirring, until the mushrooms are deeply browned, 8 minutes. Add the wine and cook until evaporated. Stir in the stock, tarragon and thyme and bring to a boil. Season with salt and pepper.

 

mushroom ragui

 

 

 

One Response to “Mushroom Ragu”

  1. Yum! This looks really tasty!


Leave a Reply

