Low Fat Diva Blog

Low Fat Lifestyle Recipes & Lowfat Cooking Tips

Jam July 16, 2014

Filed under: Appetizers & Drinks — lowfatdiva @ 9:11 pm

As I was checking my email today I found this recipe from Cooking Light magazine for strawberry jam.  Normally I would delete a jam recipe because I am just not in the mood to make jam right now and I would probably take the cheaters way out by finding some at the farmers market 😉  But this recipe intrigued me because it was put in a slow cooker and it had wine in it!  Go figure right?  I’m going to try it this weekend.  Plus I think making the recipe with blueberries (which are ready now at the markets) and adding either lemon thyme or pineapple mint might be fun.    Enjoy!!!!

strawberry-riesling-jam-ck-l

  • 2 pounds very ripe hulled strawberries
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup Riesling wine
  • 1 medium peeled Macintosh apple, grated
  • 1 (1.75-ounce) box Sure-Jell fruit pectin
  • 1 rosemary sprig

Preparation

  1. 1. Combine first 5 ingredients in a 6-quart electric slow cooker. Cover and cook on LOW for 8 hours.
  2. 2. Mash the fruit to a chunky puree with a potato masher or an emulsion . Increase heat to HIGH; cook, uncovered, 4 hours. Turn off heat, and nestle rosemary sprig into fruit mixture; let stand 1 hour. Remove and discard rosemary sprig and any loose needles. Place jam in a bowl; cover and chill 8 hours. Store, refrigerated, for up to 3 weeks

NOTE:  I’m going to put it in jars so I can give to others to sample 😉

 

Leave a Reply

